What makes it a Voyadi Spot?
Filoli provides an inspiring vision of a new Eden, with bountiful land, plentiful resources and an emphasis on self-sufficiency. Filoli represented a desire to create a magnificent and enduring country estate. The name was created by combining the first two letters from the key words of his credo: "Fight for a just cause; Love your fellow man; Live a good life."
One of the finest remaining country estates of the early 20th century, located just 30 miles south of San Francisco. Enjoy the 16–acre formal Garden, explore the historic House, take a nature hike, view an art exhibit, or pursue its educational opportunities.
Filoli was built in 1915 for Mr. and Mrs. William Bowers Bourn, who were prominent in gold mining business. Mr. Bourn chose longtime friend and prominent San Francisco architect Willis Polk as principal designer for the house. An inventive architect, Polk frequently combined several styles in a single building, an eclecticism clearly evident in his design for Filoli. The estate was then purchased in 1937 by Mr. and Mrs. William Roth, who owned the Matson Navigation Company. Mrs. Roth made Filoli her home until 1975 when she donated 125 acres, which included the House and formal garden, to the National Trust for Historic Preservation for the enjoyment and inspiration of future generations.